Obliviate Sends Secret, Self-Destructing Messages to Anyone

MakeUseOf | 2/19/2018 | Ben Stegner
entengo (Posted by) Level 3
Click For Photo: https://cdn.makeuseof.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/obliviate-self-destruct-secret-messages-feat2-994x400.jpg

Obliviate is a new app from MakeUseOf that lets you send self-destructing messages. It’s great for sharing secret messages with friends that you don’t want sticking around on their phone, among other use cases.

Download: obliviate for Android and iOS.

Lets - Timer - Seconds - Messages - Recipient

The app lets you set a timer between 5 and 180 seconds for how long your messages will last. Once the recipient opens it, the message will disappear after a set time. And if you change your mind, you can immediately obliviate messages and bypass the timer.

Best of all, the obliviate is free and has no ads; never will. Plus, you cannot take screenshots in the app or copy the content of the messages (this feature is currently available on Android only, coming soon on iOS). This prevents others from recording messages you intended to be private.

Chat - Apps - Self-destruct - Options - Obliviate

Unlike other chat apps that have self-destruct options, obliviate doesn’t display chat history for increased security and privacy.

After you’ve downloaded obliviate, go ahead and open it. Tap the Get Started button, and you’ll need to enter your phone number to sign in. This lets you use the app without having to remember yet another annoying password.

Obliviate - Permission - Access - Contacts - Obliviate

After signing in, grant obliviate permission to access your contacts when asked, so you can easily recognize other registered obliviate users.

To send a self-destructing message, tap the obliviate button at the bottom of the screen. This will bring up a list of your contacts. Those who have obliviate installed will appear at the top with a purple dot next to their names. Tap the contact you want to message. Even if they’re not using obliviate yet, tapping on their name will enable you to send them an invitation to join.

Compose - Screen - Message - Send - Confirmation

On the compose screen, simply type out your secret message and tap Send. You’ll see a confirmation that the message sent and...
(Excerpt) Read more at: MakeUseOf
Wake Up To Breaking News!
Sign In or Register to comment.

Welcome to Long Room!

Where The World Finds Its News!