From casting to meet and greets, a Disney princess reveals what her job is really like

Business Insider | 2/12/2018 | Alix Tunell, Refinery29
Click For Photo: http://static1.businessinsider.com/image/5a8213fdec1ade549d377719-1190-625/from-casting-to-meet-and-greets-a-disney-princess-reveals-what-her-job-is-really-like.jpg

Becoming a Disney princess is surprisingly difficult — only 30 out of 600 women are chosen.

Princesses don't have any say in the characters they are given.

Hair - Nails

Hair must appear natural and you must always have your nails clipped.

Disney Princesses are taught how to do their own makeup to fit their character.

Becca* - Disney - Princess - Disneyland - Anaheim

Becca* works part-time as a Disney princess at Disneyland in Anaheim, California. The following interview was told to Alix Tunell and edited for length and clarity.

I've been working at Disney for several years. A year before I got the job, I vacationed with my family at Disneyland and my little sister was so excited to meet Tiana. I remember thinking then how cool would it be to have that job, so when I got home, I googled what it takes to be a Disney princess. I read all about the hiring process and found the site where they post the character auditions. I knew that the next fall I'd be moving to Orange County for school, and it just so happened there was an audition my first weekend there.

Say - Characters - Ariel - Elsa - Monologue

We didn't have a say in the characters we were given. Ariel was my favorite and I thought they would ask us, but nope. I was handed an Elsa monologue at the audition and that’s how I found out that's who they were considering me for. Once you’re officially hired, they say you’re always in consideration for other roles, though. I work part-time and typically average 20 hours a week; a normal weekly paycheck for me is between $250 and $350.