Rare Super Blue Blood Moon Eclipse Thrills Millions Around the World

Space.com | 1/31/2018 | Staff
Click For Photo: https://img.purch.com/h/1000/aHR0cDovL3d3dy5zcGFjZS5jb20vaW1hZ2VzL2kvMDAwLzA3My83MjMvb3JpZ2luYWwvbHVuYXItZWNsaXBzZS1qYW1lcy1qb3JkYW4uanBn?&imgtype=.jpg

The second full moon of January passed through Earth's shadow in a Super Blue Blood Moon eclipse today (Jan. 31), a rare lunar sight visible to millions of observers around the world.

Today's lunar eclipse was the first to coincide with a Blue Moon – a second full moon in one month – in North America in over 150 years. It was also the second "supermoon" of 2018, with the moon appearing slightly bigger and brighter than usual due to its closeness to Earth. And to top it off, the supermoon passed through Earth's shadow this morning, casting a reddish hue on the lunar surface for more than 4 hours.

Astrophotographer - James - Jordan - View - Super

Astrophotographer James Jordan captured this view of the Super Blue Blood Moon at totality from Oakland, California.

The eclipse began at 5:51 a.m. EST (1051 GMT), when the moon began to enter the outer portion of Earth's shadow, known as the penumbra. During the penumbral phase of the eclipse, which lasted about an hour, the moon began to darken as the shadow slowly moved across its surface.

Am - ET - GMT - Moon - Darker

At 6:48 a.m. ET (1148 GMT), the moon began to enter the darker, inner portion of Earth's shadow, or the umbra. This phase of the eclipse, known as a partial eclipse, is when the moon began to appear red. That red tint is the result of sunlight scattering in Earth's atmosphere, the same effect that causes sunsets and sunrises to appear red.

By 7:51 a.m. EST (1251 GMT), the moon was totally submerged in Earth's umbral shadow, marking the beginning of the total lunar eclipse. During a live webcast by the Slooh community observatory, astronomer Paul Cox said that this lunar eclipse was "by far the best one I've ever seen." While skywatchers along the U.S. East Coast were not able to see this phase of the eclipse,...
(Excerpt) Read more at: Space.com
Wake Up To Breaking News!
Nie wieder, unelected bureaucrat's running our country
Sign In or Register to comment.

Welcome to Long Room!

Where The World Finds Its News!