SpaceX delays Crew Dragon abort test launch to Sunday due to bad weather

Space.com | 1/19/2020 | Tariq Malik
Frost123Frost123 (Posted by) Level 3
Click For Photo: https://cdn.mos.cms.futurecdn.net/EjFkW2CPkTQUBTBsqzEHVR-1200-80.jpg




Click here for more Space.com videos...

SpaceX has postponed the launch of a major safety test for its Crew Dragon astronaut taxi to Sunday, Jan. 19, due to bad weather around the mission's Florida launch site.

Spaceflight - Company - Crew - Dragon - Spacecraft

The private spaceflight company was scheduled to launch the unpiloted Crew Dragon spacecraft on a used Falcon 9 rocket today (Jan. 18) from the historic Launch Complex 39A at NASA's Kennedy Space Center in Cape Canaveral, Florida. But bad weather at the launch site, as well as Crew Dragon's recovery zone at sea, prompted the delay.

"Standing down from today's in-flight Crew Dragon launch escape test due to sustained winds and rough seas in the recovery area," SpaceX wrote in a mission update on Twitter. "Now targeting Sunday, January 19, with a six-hour test window opening at 8:00 a.m. EST, 13:00 UTC."

Launch - Space - Com - Homepage - Sunday

You can watch the launch live here and on Space.com's homepage on Sunday, courtesy of SpaceX, beginning at about 7:40 a.m. EST (1240 GMT). You can also watch the launch directly from SpaceX here, or from NASA here. A NASA TV webcast will begin at 7:45 a.m. EST (1245 GMT).

Related: SpaceX, NASA 'go' for major Crew Dragon launch escape test

SpaceX - Crew - Dragon - Abort - Mission

SpaceX had aimed to launch Crew Dragon's in-flight abort mission to test the spacecraft's SuperDraco-powered abort system designed to pull the capsule free of its Falcon 9 rocket in the event of a launch emergency. Liftoff was scheduled for 8 a.m. EST during a four-hour launch window, but SpaceX cautioned that bad weather might prompt the company to extend that time frame.

"This test, which does not have NASA astronauts onboard the spacecraft, is intended to demonstrate Crew Dragon's ability to reliably carry crew to safety in the unlikely event of an emergency on ascent," SpaceX officials wrote in a statement.

SpaceX

SpaceX will...
(Excerpt) Read more at: Space.com
Wake Up To Breaking News!
Drove my Ford to the fjord, but the fjord was dry. . .
Sign In or Register to comment.

Welcome to Long Room!

Where The World Finds Its News!