Golf: Officials Clarify Rule After Players Left Confused

www.oann.com | 10/12/2018 | Staff
urbanpatrioturbanpatriot (Posted by) Level 4
(Reuters) – Golf officials issued clarification on where and when a caddie can stand behind a player who is lining up a shot following two controversial incidents at two different events.

The Royal & Ancient (R&A) and United States Golf Association (USGA) issued a joint statement attempting to clarify rule 10.2 which was designed to limit the advice and help a player can receive during a round.

Rule - Uproar - China - Li - Haotong

The new rule sparked an uproar after China’s Li Haotong at Dubai Desert Classic and Denny McCarthy at the Phoenix Open were handed two-stroke penalties last week for getting help from their caddies.

Li was penalized when his caddie, who had been standing behind him, moved to the side after he had started to take his stance for a putt.

Penalty - R - A - McCarthy - Day

His two-shot penalty was upheld by the R&A while McCarthy’s was rescinded a day later after consultations with officials determined there had been similar incidents involving other players that were not penalized.

Clarifying the rule, the USGA and R&A said in a statement: “If a player backs away from a stance, the player...
(Excerpt) Read more at: www.oann.com
Wake Up To Breaking News!
Nie wieder, unelected bureaucrat's running our country
Sign In or Register to comment.

Welcome to Long Room!

Where The World Finds Its News!