The Super Blood Wolf Moon Eclipse of 2019 Has Begun!

Space.com | 1/20/2019 | Staff
max1max1 (Posted by) Level 4
Click For Photo: https://img.purch.com/h/1000/aHR0cDovL3d3dy5zcGFjZS5jb20vaW1hZ2VzL2kvMDAwLzA4Mi8zMzYvb3JpZ2luYWwvdG90YWwtbHVuYXItZWNsaXBzZS0yMDE5LWJlZ2lucy5qcGc=?&imgtype=.jpg

Go outside and look up — the "Super Blood Wolf Moon" total lunar eclipse is underway!

The moonbegan edging into Earth's shadow tonight (Jan. 20) at 10:34 p.m. EST (0334 GMT on Monday, Jan. 21) and will become completely darkened at 11:41 p.m. EST (0441 GMT).

Phase - Hour - Moon - Light - Am

The total-eclipse phase will last a little over an hour; the moon will start to see the light again at 12:43 a.m. EST (0543 GMT) on Monday morning. And the celestial show will wrap up at 1:51 a.m. EST (0651 GMT). [Super Blood Moon Lunar Eclipse of 2019: Complete Guide]

The moon begins passing into Earth's shadow during a total lunar eclipse on Jan. 20, 2019 in this view from the Griffith Observatory in Los Angeles, California.

Eclipse - Hour - Hour - Bookend - Times

(Technically, the eclipse starts about an hour earlier, and ends roughly an hour later, than the above bookend times, as the moon enters and exits Earth's faint outer shadow, known as the penumbra. But these penumbral passings won't change the moon's appearance for most skywatchers, so we're not going to worry about them.)

Folks in North and South America are best positioned to see tonight's eclipse, though observers in Europe and western Africa are also getting an eyeful. And you really should take advantage of tonight's opportunity: There won't be another total lunar eclipseuntil May 2021.

Moon - Path - Earth - Plane - Planet

The moon's path around Earth is slightly out of plane with our planet's orbit around the sun, which explains why total lunar eclipses are relatively uncommon; things have to line up just right. If the sun, moon and Earth all lay in exactly in the same plane, we'd have total...
(Excerpt) Read more at: Space.com
Wake Up To Breaking News!
Goverment, no matter how big, is always a big problem.
Sign In or Register to comment.

Welcome to Long Room!

Where The World Finds Its News!