Click For Photo: https://i.dailymail.co.uk/1s/2018/08/16/22/wire-3979766-1534455538-769_636x382.jpgClick For Video: https://video.dailymail.co.uk/video/mol/2017/11/28/5988998616284744370/1024x576_MP4_5988998616284744370.mp4
Google has admitted that it tracks users' location history even after they turn off location sharing.
On Thursday, the search giant revised a help page that erroneously described how its 'Location History' setting works.
Page - Google - Location - Setting
The page now clarifies that Google still tracks their location even if they turn the setting off.
The move follows an explosive report by the Associated Press, which revealed that several Google apps and websites store user location even if users turned off Location History.
Google - Practices - Investigation
Google has not changed its location-tracking practices since the investigation was published.
The help page now states: 'This setting does not affect other location services on your device.'
Location - Data - Part - Activity - Services
It also acknowledges that 'some location data may be saved as part of your activity on other services, like Search and Maps.'
Previously, the page stated: 'With Location History off, the places you go are no longer stored.'
Change - Google - Website - Midday - Thursday
The change appeared to have been made to Google's website midday Thursday.
Google acknowledge the change in a statement to reporters.
'We - Language - Location - History - Platforms
'We have been updating the explanatory language about Location History to make it more consistent and clear across our platforms and help centers,' Google said in a statement to the AP.
The AP investigation found that even with Location History turned off, Google stores user location...
Wake Up To Breaking News!