A video shows how gummy candy is really made — and it might make you think twice about eating it

Business Insider | 7/12/2018 | Jessica Booth, INSIDER
aka1aka1 (Posted by) Level 4
Click For Photo: https://amp.businessinsider.com/images/5b47ba3b7708e95f7d2680ef-1136-568.jpg

Tons of people love gummy candy, but not everyone knows how it's made.

A Belgian filmmaker uploaded a video showing how gelatin, an ingredient found in most gummy candies, is made from animal parts.


Gelatin, while off-putting, is actually not unhealthy.

Gummy candy is one of the more popular candy choices out there, and it isn't hard to see why. With adorable shapes and a sweet taste, gummies seem like an innocent and fun treat.

Fans - Way - Candy - Gruesome

But some fans may be surprised to find out that the way gummy candy is made could be considered unappetizing, some might even say gruesome.

Thanks to gelatin, gummy candy is usually not vegan.

Vegans - Ingredients - Candy

Vegans probably already know that one of the main ingredients in gummy candy is usually gelatin.

According to Live Science, gelatin is "a collection of long, stringy animal-based proteins called collagen, which bond together in three-stranded helical structures — similar to the two-stranded helices of DNA." To make gelatin, animal parts like bones, horns, and skin are boiled for an extended period of time.

Gelatin - Foods - Candy - Jell-O - Bouncy

Gelatin is odorless and tasteless and therefore added to foods like gummy candy and Jell-O to make them bouncy and rubbery. According to Bon Appetit, it's elastic and is "perfect for adding a bit of semi-solid jiggle to things that would otherwise be runny liquids."

A Belgian filmmaker made a video documenting how gelatin is made.

Candy - Ingredient - Filmmaker - Alina - Kneepkens

To help you understand more thoroughly how your favorite candy's ingredient is made, Belgian filmmaker Alina Kneepkens created a short film that shows, in detail, how gelatin and gummy candies are made. Kneepkens shows us the footage in reverse, beginning with someone happily eating gummies and ending with the pigs in which gelatin is sourced from. The video is hard to watch and is certainly not for those who have sensitive stomachs —...
(Excerpt) Read more at: Business Insider
Wake Up To Breaking News!
Communist, Socialist, Democrat, Republican, at this point, what difference does it make.
Sign In or Register to comment.

Welcome to Long Room!

Where The World Finds Its News!