Moon near Castor and Pollux on January 19

earthsky.org | 1/19/2019 | Bruce McClure
bluelilly (Posted by) Level 3
Click For Photo: https://en.es-static.us/upl/2019/01/2019-january-19-20-moon-castor-pollux-300x300.jpg

On January 19, 2019, the moon might look full to you, but it’s not yet. Full moon comes when the moon is most opposite the sun. That’ll be January 20 for us in North America, at which time the full supermoon will be totally eclipsed by the Earth’s dark shadow for 62 minutes, starting at 11:41 p.m. EST, 10:41 p.m. CST, 9:41 p.m. MST, 8:41 p.m. PST, 7:41 p.m. Alaskan Time and 6:41 p.m. Hawaiian Time.

Meanwhile, the January 19 moon is a waxing gibbous moon. It’s near the bright stars Castor and Pollux in the constellation Gemini the Twins.

Figure - Gemini - Twins - Chart - Top

Although we’ve drawn in the stick figure of the Gemini Twins on the chart at the top of this post, you might not see much of Gemini in the moonlight glare except for Castor and Pollux. These two stars are bright and noticeable for being near one another. They form the northeastern part of the Winter Circle.

You can also use the Big Dipper to locate Castor and Pollux. Draw an imaginary line diagonally through the bowl of the Big Dipper, as shown on the sky chart above.

Star - Side - January - Moon - Procyon

That brilliant star on the other side of the January 19 moon is Procyon, sometimes called the Little Dog Star.

You might not know that Procyon – and Castor...
(Excerpt) Read more at: earthsky.org
Wake Up To Breaking News!
Tagged:
Sign In or Register to comment.

Welcome to Long Room!

Where The World Finds Its News!